Forbidden List series by G.R. Matthews

English | ePUB | 1.60 MiB | Books: 3

The Author

Geoff Matthews began reading in the cot. His mother, at her wits end with the constant noise and unceasing activity, would plop him down on the soft mattress with an encyclopaedia full of pictures then quietly slip from the room. His father, ever the pragmatist, declared, that they should, “throw the noisy bugger out of the window.” Happily this event never came to pass (or if it did Geoff bounced well). Growing up, he spent Sunday afternoons on the sofa watching westerns and Bond movies with the self-same parent who had once wished to defenestrate him. When not watching the six-gun heroes or spies being out-acted by their own eyebrows he devoured books like a hungry wolf in the dead of winter. Beginning with Patrick Moore and Arthur C Clarke he soon moved on to Isaac Asimov. However, one wet afternoon in a book shop in his home town, not far from the standing stones of Avebury, he came across a book by David Eddings – and soon Sci-Fi gave way to Fantasy. Many years later, Geoff finally realised a dream and published his own fantasy novel, The Stone Road, in the hopes that other hungry wolves out there would find a hearty meal.

The Books

Myth, Legend, Horror, Sword, Science Fiction, Asian, Sorcery, Occult, Fantasy, General, Fiction

Magic and Martial Arts meet head on in a war that will change the world.

“This is fantasy in a very different setting – as traditional sword and sorcery meets the House of Flying Daggers.” – Amazon Review

Zhou is a diplomat, on a mission to bring peace between his city and the city of Yaart. A mission that will, if successful, end the war that has lasted thirty years. But, not everyone on his team wants peace at any cost. There are scores to be settled that could jeopardise the treaty and plunge the two cities into another thirty years of bloody conflict. Haung has no family but the army that raised him. Peace could prevent him from reaching the heights of glory he desires. But then comes an offer from an unexpected source and Haung must train to be a Jiin-Wei; a master swordsman, magician and spy. He will find that life as a spy is a lot more complicated than that of a soldier, and his loyalties will be tested to the full. Deception is a weapon that all sides wield with skill.

Behind it all, an Emperor is readying the land for a war against a new enemy. One that he knows too little about.

The books in suggested reading order:

The Stone Road
The Blue Mountains
The Red Plains