Leatherstocking series (Last of the Mohicans) by James Fenimore Cooper

English | ePUB | 3.35 MiB | Books: 5

The Author

James Fenimore Cooper was a popular and prolific American writer. He is best known for his historical novel The Last of the Mohicans, one of the Leatherstocking Tales stories, and he also wrote political fiction, maritime fiction, travelogues, and essays on the American politics of the time. His daughter Susan Fenimore Cooper was also a writer.

The Books

United States, New York (State), Male friendship, Frontier and pioneer life, Hunters, Scouts and scouting, Scouting (Reconnaissance), Iroquois Indians, French and Indian War; 1755-1763, Fiction, Literary, General, Historical, Delaware Indians, Bumppo, Classics, Cultural Heritage, History

It was the last of Cooper’s series of five novels featuring the character of Nathaniel (Natty) Bumppo, also known as Deerslayer, Pathfinder, Hawkeye, Leatherstocking, and Trapper. Set in the wilderness area around Lake Otsego, New York, during one week in June between 1740 and 1745, The Deerslayer is an exciting story about the adventures of the woodsman known as Deerslayer and his Delaware Indian friend, Chingachgook.

The books in suggested reading order:

The Deerslayer
The Lst of the Mohicans
The Pathfinder
The Pioneers
The Praire