Penny Brannigan Mystery series by Elizabeth J. Duncan

English | ePUB | 5.42 MiB | Books: 8

The Author

After graduating from Carleton University, Ottawa, with a BA in English, Elizabeth J. Duncan worked as a writer and editor for some of Canada’s largest newspapers, and as a public relations practitioner.

A two-time winner of the Bloody Words Award for Canada’s best light mystery, she is the author of two traditional mystery series, Penny Brannigan set in North Wales and Shakespeare in the Catskills featuring costume designer Charlotte Fairfax, Elizabeth divides her time between Toronto, Canada and Llandudno, North Wales.

The Books

Fiction, Mystery & Detective, Cozy, General, Women Sleuths, Amateur Sleuth

Elizabeth J. Duncan spins a charming tale of murder and intrigue in her award-winning first novel, The Cold Light of Mourning.

The picturesque North Wales market town of Llanelen is shocked when Meg Wynne Thompson, a self-made beauty who has turned out to be something of an unpopular bride, goes missing on her wedding day…and turns up dead. The last person believed to have seen her is manicurist Penny Brannigan, an expatriate Canadian who has lived in North Wales for almost twenty-five years. When Penny notices that something is not quite right at the funeral of her dearest friend, she becomes emotionally invested in the case, and sets out to investigate. It seems that several people, including the bride’s drunken, abusive father, had reasons to wish Meg dead, but when the trail leads to her groom’s home, an explosive secret will shake the small town.

With its bucolic Welsh setting and vivid, colorful characters, this mystery is sure to delight the most discerning of traditional-mystery fans.

The books in suggested reading order:

The Cold Light of Mourning
Slated for Death
A Killer’s Christmas in Wales
A Small Hill to Die on
Never Laugh as a Hearse Goes By
Slated for Death
Murder on the Hour
Murder is for Keeps