Werner Family series by Belva Plain

English | ePUB | 11.63 MB | Books: 5

The Author

Belva Plain was one of the noteworthy authors of America who was well known for her novels based on the historical, women’s fiction, and family saga genres. She is particularly popular for writing down the Werner Family Saga series. The novels written by author Plain, often dealt with the common social issues such as divorce, child molestation, adoption, abduction, and switching of babies at the time of birth. When she died, there were over 3o million printed copies of her books already available in more than 20 foreign languages all across the world. Out of the 27 novels that she had written in her writing career, 21 went on to be listed in the New York Times best sellers’ list. The first story written by author Plain was sold to the Cosmopolitan in the year 1940. During the initial days of her career as an author, she used to write short stories for numerous magazines. Until the time author Plain became a mother, she continued writing short stories. Finally, after the birth of her first child, she decided to try her hand at writing a full length novel and eventually penned down her debut novel titled ‘Evergreen’. But, Plain was not able to publish this book until 1978. However, when it was finally published, it opened to wide appreciations and praises from one and all. The book formed the first part of the Werner Family series and went on to feature for 41 weeks continuously on the best seller list of the New York Times. Later, it was also adapted in the form of a television mini series. The final novel written by author Plain in her writing career was titled as Heatwood and it was released in the year 2011.

Plain was born on January 01, 1919, in the New York City, The United States. Her death occurred on October 12, 2010. Author Belva Plain nee Offenberg was a 3rd generation American of the Jewish community who grew up in New York City. She completed her graduation from the Barnard College in the subject of history in the year 1939. Plain used to live in the section of Short Hill, located in Millburn, New Jersey. Before joining the bigger stage of publishing, author Plain used to write only short as she was busy raising her 3 children. At the age of 25, she approached the Cosmopolitan with her first story and agreed to publish it in their next issue. After this, Plain continued to contribute with a few dozen more short stories to a number of women’s magazines. When all her 3 kids grew old enough to take care of themselves, author Plain decided to shift her towards writing novels. In her first book titled Evergrees, she has described the character Anna in the form of a redheaded and feisty Jewish girl migrating from Poland into the New York with the hope of changing her fortune. Author Plain has described the family story of Anna which spans through a few more decades and 4 other books in the series. It is believed that author Plain didn’t own a computer ever in her life. In fact, she used to write all her books and short stories longhand on yellow pads. Throughout her career, Plain remained a disciplined worker. She sued to write for a few hours in the morning for only five days per week. Every year, she used to produce a novel of near about 500 to 600 pages. Author Plain’s husband was named Irving Plain, who died in the year 1982 after being in marriage with her for over 40 years.

The Books

Fiction, Women, Romance, Contemporary, War & Military

The towering modern classic of passion and ambition that forever changed the way we see the courageous immigrants who came to America’s shores — the story of Anna Friedman transfixes us with the turbulent emotions of a woman and her family touched by war, tragedy, and the devastating secrets of one forbidden love… bittersweet and evergreen.

From the Paperback edition.
“A grand, sweeping panorama . . . richly written, finely detailed . . . vivid and memorable.”— Daily News (New York)
Yearning for a better life, Anna Friedman fled Poland for New York at the turn of the century. Finding work as a maid for the Werner family, Anna discovers an elegance beyond her dreams—and the passion of Paul Werner, a man beyond her reach, even when she is in his arms. But it is Joseph Friedman whom she marries. And through an act of illicit passion that will haunt her though all her days, Anna lifts Joseph from poverty to a wealth on which the Friedman dynasty would be based for generations. Sweeping from Jazz Age New York to Nazi Germany to a sun-baked Israeli kibbutz, Evergreen has become a modern American classic—an epic novel that spans three generations of an unforgettable family—and exposes the heart of an extraordinary woman: her marriage, her children, her deceit.
“A magnificent story . . . this beautifully written  book will be treasured and reread for many years to come.”— Library Journal

The books in suggested reading order:

The Golden Cup