Inspector Celcius Daly series by Anthony J. Quinn

English | ePUB | 5.56 MB | Books: 4

The Author

Anthony J. Quinn is an Irish journalist and author best known for writing a series of detective thrillers – the Inspector Celsius Daly crime mystery series. Quinn was born in County Tyrone in Northern Ireland and attended college at the Queen’s University, Belfast, where he studied English. After college, he held down several jobs that included yoga teacher, organic gardener, lecturer, and social worker before he got into journalism. It is quite bizarre that he would work in such jobs given that Quinn asserts that he was overly shy as a child and needed a speech therapist to him help get over his communication difficulties. Nonetheless, he had always loved writing as a child and had written several poems during his formative years. He would write his first novel “Disappeared” in 2012 to much critical acclaim. The novel made the shortlist for the Strand Literary Award and got positive critiques from The Times Magazine, the Daily Mail, and Kirkus Reviews. The novels have been described as some of the best crime novels, a magnificent meditation, an irresistible and hypnotically expressive take on the destructive legacy of the troubled times.

Growing up on an isolated farm, Quinn was painfully shy to the point of almost being mute. As toddlers, Quinn and Eileen his sister would invent their own language, which they stubbornly continued to use even as they grew older. It was left to Rhoda their older sister to translate for their parents who could not understand their weird language. Even as a child, he always believed that language needs to be defined from the perspective of the speaker. The siblings were eventually forced to stop using their language, which developed in him quite the resentment towards English, which perhaps explains his communication issues. Still, his mother and grandfather were very influential figures in the career path that he would ultimately follow. They spent a lot of time telling him enthralling stories of cures, curses, bewitched cattle, mischievous fairies, spirits, shape shifters, and ghosts from Irish lore. As a seven-year old, his mother used to encourage him to read, and he was a regular visitor to the old Dungannon Library in his hometown, where he spent a lot of time reading the Enid Blyton adventures. He would spend most of his teenage and young adulthood years writing moody poetry from reading a lot of Yeats. He currently lives in County Tyronne with his family. He still works his day job as a writer with the Tyrone Times.

Like many of his contemporaries, Anthony J. Quinn never had it easy publishing his novels as his manuscripts were rejected many times. In fact, he asserts that he was rejected about forty times before he got a deal to publish “Disappeared” with Otto Penzler’s Mysterious Press. Even after the novel was published, it never got much traction in Ireland and the UK, given its focus on the Troubles. He was first inspired to write the series of novels because he felt that not many of the writers from the UK did justice to the people and the landscape of Ireland. He wanted to bring to light the darkness and mood enhancing beauty of the Irish landscape by expressing it through his own experiences as a journalist and his life during the Troubles.

The Books

Fiction, General, Mystery & Detective

The lead character in the series is Celcius Daly, a solitary, insomniac, maverick detective.

In Northern Ireland’s darkest corner, the Troubles have never ended.

Though bombs no longer rock Belfast, for some the fight goes on. Retired Special Branch agent David Hughes disappears after looking into the previously closed case of Oliver Jordan, who went missing at the hands of the IRA decades ago. Soon after, a former spy is found bludgeoned to death, the day after placing his own obituary in the newspaper. Beneath Northern Ireland’s modern calm, ancient jealousies threaten to rend the country asunder once more.

A Catholic detective in a Protestant nation, Celcius Daly knows too well the agonies of sectarian strife. To solve this string of murders, he must reach decades into the past, confronting a painful history that Ireland would prefer to forget.

The books in suggested reading order:

Border Angels