Sprockets series by Alexander Key


English | ePUB | 8.22 MB | Books: 3

The Author

An American science fiction writer, most of whose books were aimed at a juvenile audience. He became a nationally known illustrator before he became an author. After he began writing novels for young people, he moved his family to the North Carolina mountains, and most of his books include that wild and rugged landscape.

His novel Escape to Witch Mountain was made into a popular film in 1975 and again in 1995. His novel The Incredible Tide became a popular anime series, Future Boy Conan.

He is known for his portrayals of alien but human-like people who have psychic powers and a close communion with nature, and who can speak with animals. In The Strange White Doves, he professed his belief that animals are conscious and aware, and have subtle ways of communicating, perhaps via telepathy.

The protagonists of Key’s books are often ostracized, feared, or persecuted due to their abilities or alien origin, and Key uses this as a clear metaphor for racism and other prejudice. In several of the books (most notably “The Case of the Vanishing Boy,”) Key portrays some sort of communal withdrawing from society with a group of like-minded individuals.

The Books

Juvenile Fiction, Robots, Science Fiction, Action & Adventure, General

A pint-size robot with a big spirit goes on an interstellar adventure Running low on metal, an assembly line spits out something unusual: a peculiar little robot, no bigger than a boy.

His name is Sprockets, and though he is small, he has the most powerful electronic brain on Earth. “Destroy him!” cries the foreman, but Sprockets escapes. He runs through the moonlit city, pushing his little body as hard as he can until rain starts to fall—and he begins to rust. But Sprockets is rescued just in time by Jim and his father, Dr. Bailey—a brilliant inventor who sometimes has trouble with fractions. Luckily for him, there is no finer tabulator than Sprockets.  

They adopt this little robot as their own, and soon set off for another world—where Sprockets will be charged with saving the universe and learning what it is to be alive. Sprockets is the 1st book in the Sprockets series, which also includes Rivets and Sprockets and Bolts.

The books in suggested reading order:

Rivets and Sprockets